VIRTUAL PRODUCTION IS REVOLUTIONIZING THE FILM INDUSTRY

When looking at the current Film and Advertising market, a term is becoming more and more common: "Virtual Production" is on everyone's lips in the whole Film industry and describes the process of filming in-front of a large LED screen, which can be filled with virtual backgrounds. The special feature of this technology when compared to "conventional" green and blue screen recordings is that all participants on-site already have a better understanding of the scene and the main characters can be illuminated in real time by the LED screen. The camera movement is synchronised with the background so that a parallax shift suggests a real “depth effect” for the scene. As a result, and due to the lighting from the set, the foreground and background merge in a natural way in one camera shot.

BIZZLOGIC AND VIRTUAL PRODUCTION

Similar to game trailers, virtual tracking shots can be used to bring impressive images from virtual reality onto a 2D screen, which thanks to the latest render technologies by game engines such as the "Unreal Engine" look almost lifelike.  

GAME ENGINES CHANGED OVER THE YEARS

Compared to classic render methods of the Film sector, game engines offer the advantage of being able to perform all calculations in real-time. If you look at the classic work process of a Visual Effects Artist, he builds 3D compositions in a development environment such as "Maya", "Cinema4D" or "Blender" and then uses time-consuming calculations to calculate the direction of impact of the light and the objects. Depending on the complexity of the scene, this can take several hours per image. If you consider that a film scene consists of an average of 24 frames / second, you understand the time involved in such a calculation.  

Source: https://www.chaosgroup.com/blog/understanding-resumable-rendering

Game engines take a different path. Since these - as the name suggests - come from the gaming world, all of the above calculations must be done in real time. The player simply does not want to wait for a virtual image to build up in-front of themselves minutes before they can start the next interaction. For this reason, computer games have always looked "lower fidelity" in comparison to Hollywood films. A lot has happened though in computer graphics over the past decade. Innovations such as “Real Time Raytracing” - the calculation of light in real-time - and the ever increasing capabilities of conventional computer chips and graphics cards bring computer games very close to the graphic fidelity of films. As a result, the rendering methods from games are becoming increasingly relevant to the Film market.

FROM GREENSCREEN TO LED-WALL

If you look at large Hollywood Film productions, these days many scenes are filmed in green or blue screen studios.  

Source: https://www.mainpost.de/ueberregional/bayern/Das-Entstehen-der-Macht;art16683,9048926,B::pic16685,6910233

This has the advantage that the sets do not have to be physically constructed, but it presents the Actors, Directors and Artists with enormous challenges. The Actors have few points of reference when it comes to interactions with the environment and the Producers have no foresight of the end product through the camera lens, which leads to many iterations and exponentially increasing production costs with "re-shoots". In addition, there is always a difficulty in the green / blue screen in harmonising the Actors in terms of colour and lighting with the backgrounds.  

The flexibility of game engines enables Directors to make spontaneous theoretical decisions on the spot. These can be visualisations, such as Film locations, which allow Artists to frame the scenery and therefore make better creative decisions.

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hjb-AqMD-a4&t=393s

Compared to a "classic" film production, the production chain shifts forward. VFX Artists have the option to prepare the scenes for the day of shooting, which will make the process easier for the Film Team.

This also means that many effects, that previously had to be laboriously combined with the filmed material in post-production, can now be recorded “in-camera” against a real background. This particularly affects the subject of lighting. By using several LED screens in-front of and behind the Actors, which change in real time to match the desired scene, the Actors are always shown in the “right light”. This is particularly impressive on reflective materials in which the background is reflected.  

Source: https://www.techspot.com/news/82991-disney-uses-epic-unreal-engine-render-real-time.html

Shooting in-front of a virtual background also makes it easier for the Performers to find their way around. While the imagination of the Actors is often required in-front of a green or blue screen, they are now in the middle of the desired scenery. Another advantage compared to green and blue screen recordings is the avoidance of the “chroma keying” process. This leads to problems in post-production, especially in the area of blurred transitions from foreground and background and very fine objects such as hair. By recording the background “in-camera”, optical phenomena such as Lens reflections, depth of field and dynamic range are natively recorded in virtual production.

Virtual Production offers unlimited creative possibilities and is already used in major productions such as "Star Wars - The Mandalorian", "Westworld", "His Dark Materials", "The Lion King". We believe that this technology represents the immediate future of the film industry.  

I hope that I have given you a little insight into the technology - and maybe even got you excited about it. I would also like to encourage you to take a look at the literature and videos below.

Literature & Videos:

THE VIRTUAL PRODUCTION FIELD GUIDE - Noah Kadner Presented by Epic Games

https://cdn2.unrealengine.com/Unreal+Engine%2Fvpfieldguide%2FVP-Field-Guide-V1.2.02-5d28ccec9909ff626e42c619bcbe8ed2bf83138d.pdf

Virtual Production for the Class Room:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8Re7HPwh5Q&t=4255s

Posted on:

Sunday, November 29, 2020

in

category.

DIE FILMINDUSTRIE IM WANDEL DURCH TECHNOLOGIE

Bei Betrachtung des aktuellen Film- und Werbemarktes wird ein Begriff immer geläufiger: „Virtual Production“ ist in der gesamten Filmindustrie in aller Munde und beschreibt den Prozess eines Filmdrehs vor einer großen LED-Leinwand, welche mit virtuellen Hintergründen bespielt werden kann. Das Besondere an dieser Technologie im Vergleich zu „herkömmlichen“ Green- und Bluescreen-Aufnahmen ist, dass alle Teilnehmer vor Ort bereits ein besseres Verständnis von der Szene haben und die Hauptdarsteller durch den LED-Screen in Echtzeit beleuchtet werden können. Die Kamerabewegung wird hierbei so mit dem Hintergrund synchronisiert, dass eine Parallaxenverschiebung eine echte „Tiefenwirkung” der Szene suggeriert. Hierdurch und durch die Beleuchtung durch das Set verschmelzen der Vorder- und Hintergrund in einer Kameraaufnahme auf eine natürliche Weise.

BIZZLOGIC UND VIRTUAL PRODUCTION

Unser Team hat sich zum ersten Mal mit diesem Thema beschäftigt, als wir an einem Trailer für eine unserer VR-Anwendungen gearbeitet haben. Ähnlich wie in Game-Trailern können anhand von virtuellen Kamerafahrten eindrucksvolle Bilder aus der virtuellen Realität auf einen 2D-Bildschirm gebracht werden, die dank modernster Render-Technologien durch Game-Engines wie der „Unreal Engine“ beinahe lebensecht aussehen.  

GAME ENGINES IM WANDEL

Im Vergleich zu klassischen Render-Methoden aus dem Filmbereich bieten Game-Engines den Vorteil, alle Berechnungen in Echtzeit durchführen zu können. Betrachtet man den klassischen Arbeitsprozess eines VFX Artists, baut dieser 3D-Kompositionen in einer Entwicklungsumgebung wie „Maya“, „Cinema4D“ oder „Blender“ und lässt dann durch zeitaufwendige Berechnungen die Aufprallrichtung des Lichts und der Objekte kalkulieren. Dies kann je nach Komplexität der Szene mehrere Stunden pro Bild dauern. Wenn man bedenkt, dass eine Filmszene aus durchschnittlich 24 Bildern/Sekunde besteht, versteht man den zeitlichen Aufwand, der hinter einer solchen Berechnung steckt.  

Source: https://www.chaosgroup.com/blog/understanding-resumable-rendering

Game Engines bestreiten einen anderen Weg. Da diese – wie der Name schon sagt - aus der Spielewelt stammen, müssen alle oben genannten Berechnungen in Echtzeit geschehen. Der Spieler möchte nun mal nicht warten, bis sich ein virtuelles Bild über Minuten vor ihm aufbaut, bevor er die nächste Interaktion tätigen kann. Aus diesem Grund sehen/sahen Computerspiele, im Vergleich zu Hollywoodfilmen, in der Vergangenheit auch immer „grafisch schlechter“ aus. Über das letzte Jahrzehnt hat sich allerdings sehr viel getan in der Computergrafik. Durch Innovationen wie „Real Time Raytracing“ – der Berechnung von Licht in Echtzeit – und der immer steigenden Leistungsfähigkeit von hausüblichen Computerchips und Grafikkarten, kommen Computerspiele immer näher an die grafische Wiedergabetreue von Filmen heran. Dies hat zur Folge, dass die Rendermethoden aus Spielen immer mehr Relevanz für den Filmmarkt erlangen.

VOM GREENSCREEN ZUR LED-WAND

Betrachtet man große Hollywood-Fimproduktionen, werden heutzutage viele Szenen in Green- oder Bluescreenstudios gedreht.  

Source: https://www.mainpost.de/ueberregional/bayern/Das-Entstehen-der-Macht;art16683,9048926,B::pic16685,6910233

Dies hat den Vorteil, dass die Sets nicht physisch konstruiert werden müssen, stellt allerdings die Darsteller, Direktoren und Künstler vor enorme Herausforderungen. Die Schauspieler haben wenige Referenzpunkte, wenn es um Interaktionen mit der Umgebung geht und die Produzenten haben keine Voraussicht des Endproduktes durch die Kameralinse, was zu vielen Iterationen und exponentiell steigenden Produktionskosten durch sogenannte „Re-Shoots“ führt. Außerdem besteht im Green/Bluescreen immer die Schwierigkeit, die Schauspieler farblich und bezüglich der Beleuchtung mit den Hintergründen in Einklang zu bringen.  

Durch die Flexibilität von Game-Engines können Regisseure spontane Entscheidungen in der Theorie direkt vor Ort treffen. Außerdem können Visualisierungen, wie z.B. Filmschauplätze, durch die Artists bereits vor dem Dreh “geframet” werden, was den Regisseuren bessere Kreativ-Entscheidungen erlaubt.

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hjb-AqMD-a4&t=393s

Im Vergleich zu einer “klassischen” Filmproduktion verschiebt sich die Produktionskette nach vorne. VFX Artists haben die Möglichkeit, die Szenen für den Drehtag vorzubereiten, was den Prozess für das Filmteam erleichtert.

Dies bedeutet auch, dass viele Effekte, die vorher mühsam in der Post-Produktion mit dem gedrehten Material kombiniert werden mussten, nun “In-Kamera” aufgezeichnet werden können, wie vor einem echten Hintergrund. Dies wirkt sich besonders auf das Thema Beleuchtung aus. Durch den Einsatz mehrerer LED-Screens vor und hinter den Darstellern, die sich passend zur gewünschten Szene in Echtzeit verändern, werden die Darsteller immer im “richtigen Licht” abgebildet. Dies zeigt sich besonders eindrucksvoll auf reflektierenden Materialien, in denen sich der Hintergrund spiegelt.  

Source: https://www.techspot.com/news/82991-disney-uses-epic-unreal-engine-render-real-time.html

Der Dreh vor einem virtuellen Hintergrund erleichtert außerdem die Orientierung für die Darsteller vor Ort. Während vor einem Green- oder Bluescreen oft die Vorstellungs

Virtual Production bietet unbegrenzte kreative Möglichkeiten und wird bereits in großen Produktionen wie „Star Wars - The Mandalorian“, „Westworld", „His Dark Materials", "The Lion King" verwendet. Wir glauben, dass die Technologie die unmittelbare Zukunft der Filmindustrie darstellt.  

Ich hoffe, dass ich Ihnen einen kleinen Einblick in die Technologie geben – und Sie vielleicht sogar etwas dafür begeistern konnte. Ich würde Sie auch gerne dazu ermutigen, einen Blick in u.g. Literatur und Videos zu werfen.

Literatur & Videos:

THE VIRTUAL PRODUCTION FIELD GUIDE - Noah Kadner Presented by Epic Games:

https://cdn2.unrealengine.com/Unreal+Engine%2Fvpfieldguide%2FVP-Field-Guide-V1.2.02-5d28ccec9909ff626e42c619bcbe8ed2bf83138d.pdf

Virtual Production for the Class Room:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8Re7HPwh5Q&t=4255s

Posted on:

Sunday, November 29, 2020

in

category.